navLeft Online Poker 777 - the most updated online poker related portal chips navRight

online poker

   Sunday, June 16 2024 
Maven Award: Vanessa Rousso as woman player of the year

The Maven Award is a kind of distribution of prizes for women poker players, created in the initiative of Maryann Morrison, director of publishing of the magazine Woman Poker Player. In recent years, women increasingly stood out in the poker world. Many of them won titles of major tournaments with brilliance. Maryann Morrison invented then the Maven Awards in order to highlight the passion and skill of women to play poker. The Maven Awards is composed of various awards highlighting the public's choice. Indeed, the votes were made by the public according to their own terms. And for this first edition, 12,000 Internet users participated in the elections.

Thus, Vanessa Rousso, with $ 3.5 million in earnings during her career and her achievements in various poker tournaments won the prize of poker player of the year. The public gave to the World Series of Poker the prize of best poker tournament and best ladies event of the season 2010. Note that the WSOP proposed for the first time a special tournament for women in 1977 with the $ 100 buy-in Seven-Card Stud game. The Best Role Model Award was awarded to Jennifer Harman. Having started her career as a poker player at a very young age, Jennifer Harman did wonderful exploits. Following her kidney transplant, she began also to sponsor various events for charity purposes. With that, she set a good example for poker players. And the price of Humanitarian Award was won by Liz Lieu who is also known for her contributions to humanitarian efforts.

This page has been viewed 1236 times.

All trademarks and copyrighted information contained herein are the property of their respective owners.

Top Rooms
NetBet Poker
200% up to € 1,500
888 Poker
Get £12 free, no deposit required
William Hill
Up to 300 €
Titan Poker
200% up to $2,000
125% up to $500 first deposit bonus
Party Poker
50$ welcome bonus

Copyright © 2024


  All rights reserved.