navLeft Online Poker 777 - the most updated online poker related portal chips navRight

online poker

   Thursday, June 13 2024 
APPT Cebu: A woman player champion for the first time

During its first four years of existence, the Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) always crowned male competitors. Moreover, the field of participants was predominantly filled by men. For the first time, therefore, a poker player in the person of Young-Shin Im, succeed to win the trophy at the APPT edition of Cebu in the Philippines held at the Shangri-La Mactan Resort & Spa from November 12 to 16, 2010. By finishing 15th in the APPT Macau two years ago, the champion achieved a major step forward in here career as poker player. She reached the podium in ousting the tournament's runner-up Michael Fabiano in the final head's up. Note that I Young-Shin Im acquired a sizable number of chips before the duel. But it was still a pretty thrilling confrontation and we must say she deserved her victory.

By winning the trophy, Young-Shin Im just rebuild the image of woman poker players in this circuit long dominated by men. Note that the Taiwanese JJLiu and the Japanese Wooka Kim were close to victory at the APPT Macau and Seoul, but none of them managed to be crowned. Among the competitors for that title were the companion of the champion, Kim Young Gap, who finished in 3rd place. Young-Shin Im also faced Mikael Rosen (4th), Daren Yoon (5th), Basilios Diakokomninos (6th), Jukka Juvonen (7th) and Richard (8th) in the final. And for this feat, she was awarded of a gain of 5.81 million Philippine pesos equivalent to $ 132,340.

This page has been viewed 604 times.

All trademarks and copyrighted information contained herein are the property of their respective owners.

Top Rooms
NetBet Poker
200% up to € 1,500
888 Poker
Get £12 free, no deposit required
William Hill
Up to 300 €
Titan Poker
200% up to $2,000
125% up to $500 first deposit bonus
Party Poker
50$ welcome bonus

Copyright © 2024


  All rights reserved.